why i stopped using the N word

In modern society black people or African Americans have the right to use the N word.This is a right that is exclusive to the black culture because we are black, it’s that simple.The N word originates from the Spanish language however from education (From R.O.O.T.S and ) this word was widely used in the slavery days. This word was used to oppress black people as they were slaves. Since the end of slavery the N word has stuck along within the black culture and it often used to classify your authenticity amongst men.

I grew up on hip hop and from Tupac to Jay Z, from The Fugees to Kendrick Lamar and J Cole, the N word has evolved. In today’s hip hop, the N word is used to showcase how authentic or real the artist is. The irony is that they all sound the same so there goes the real n***** business. I find it sad that these artist are trying or have found identity and value in a word that was used to oppress their ancestors. What saddens me even more is that they are influencing the next generation of men to think that their self worth is in proving how much of a real n**** they are.

I personally have used the N word in the past but as I learnt more about the impact that words have, this was one of the words that quickly left my vocabulary. When I stopped swearing/cursing I stopped using the N word for i see it as a curse word. To me it feels like I am cursing fellow black people into remaining in a mentality of slavery. The N word was used by Massa’s to show off their power and authority over slaves therefore when I use it towards another black person I feel as if I am asserting my power and authority over them and yet I do not own anyone as if they were my property.

If a white person used the N word towards me or any other black person I would raise an eyebrow or educate them that they can’t use that term. I have heard many people complain that white people can’t use this term, In Fact if a white person used this term they are likely to be deemed as racists.

I am not saying that we should let white people say the N word however I am encouraging Black people and people of other ethnicities to be careful how they use this word; for word have power and an impact on people.

I encourage you to be careful about your choice words for they have a lasting impact.

Much Love and Blessings to you

Senzeni

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment